Louisiana Tech University Logo

Louisiana Tech University

Division of
Finance

Winter 2014-2015 Fees

 

WINTER QUARTER - 2014-2015

Expense Sheet - SUBJECT TO CHANGE

 

14-15 Tuition and Fee Breakdown for TOPS

In accordance with the GRAD Act, you can view Louisiana Tech's University projections of out of state fees for the next four years (Table 4.c.i) and In-State/Out of State enrollment comparison (Table 4.c.ii)

UNDERGRADUATE

Undergraduate Fees
Credit Hours On Campus Tuition On Campus Fees On Campus Total* Intern Tuition Intern Fees Intern Total* Extension Tuition Out-of-State (in addition to Undergrad tuition and fees)

1

$647.75

$150.25

$798.00

$647.75

$3.06

$650.81

$789.00

$0.00

2

$647.75

$164.25

$812.00

$647.75

$3.06

$650.81

$799.00

$0.00

3

$647.75

$178.25

$826.00

$647.75

$3.06

$650.81

$809.00

$0.00

4

$873.85

$249.15

$1,123.00

$873.85

$3.06

$876.91

$1,099.00

$0.00

5

$1,101.17

$373.83

$1,475.00

$1,101.17

$3.06

$1,104.23

$1,437.00

$0.00

6

$1,336.23

$496.77

$1,833.00

$1,336.23

$3.06

$1,339.29

$1,784.00

$0.00

7

$1,565.78

$619.22

$2,185.00

$1,565.78

$3.06

$1,568.84

$2,123.00

$3,209.00

8

$1,812.93

$741.07

$2,554.00

$1,812.93

$3.06

$1,815.99

$2,481.00

$3,760.00

9

$1,812.93

$741.07

$2,554.00

$1,812.93

$3.06

$1,815.99

$2,481.00

$4,310.00

10

$1,812.93

$741.07

$2,554.00

$1,812.93

$3.06

$1,815.99

$2,481.00

$4,861.00

11

$1,812.93

$741.07

$2,554.00

$1,812.93

$3.06

$1,815.99

$2,481.00

$5,408.00

12 or more

$1,812.93

$741.07

$2,554.00

$1,812.93

$3.06

$1,815.99

$2,481.00

$5,944.00

 Does not include Technology Enhancement Fee, Energy Surcharge, College Fee or mandatory class related fees

GRADUATE

Graduate Fees
Credit Hours On Campus Tuition On Campus Fees On Campus Total* Intern Tuition Intern Fees Intern Total* Extension Tuition Out-of-State (in addition to Undergrad tuition and fees)

1

$698.35

$151.65

$850.00

$698.35

$3.06

$701.41

$841.00

$0.00

2

$728.35

$165.65

$894.00

$728.35

$3.06

$731.41

$881.00

$0.00

3

$758.35

$179.65

$938.00

$758.35

$3.06

$761.41

$921.00

$0.00

4

$1,030.05

$243.95

$1,274.00

$1,030.05

$3.06

$1,033.11

$1,250.00

$1,562.00

5

$1,295.87

$366.13

$1,662.00

$1,295.87

$3.06

$1,298.93

$1,625.00

$2,110.00

6

$1,569.43

$487.57

$2,057.00

$1,569.43

$3.06

$1,572.49

$2,009.00

$2,660.00

7

$1,734.12

$600.88

$2,335.00

$1,734.12

$3.06

$1,737.18

$2,274.00

$3,209.00

8

$1,914.80

$715.20

$2,630.00

$1,914.80

$3.06

$1,917.86

$2,557.00

$3,760.00

9

$1,914.80

$715.20

$2,630.00

$1,914.80

$3.06

$1,917.86

$2,557.00

$4,310.00

10

$1,914.80

$715.20

$2,630.00

$1,914.80

$3.06

$1,917.86

$2,557.00

$4,861.00

11

$1,914.80

$715.20

$2,630.00

$1,914.80

$3.06

$1,917.86

$2,557.00

$5,408.00

12 or more

$1,914.80

$715.20

$2,630.00

$1,914.80

$3.06

$1,917.86

$2,557.00

$5,944.00

Does not include Technology Enhancement Fee, Energy Surcharge, College Fee or mandatory class related fees.

Credit exams and courses pursued on an audit basis are counted for the purpose of determining fees.

The classification of a student, either Resident or Non-Resident, is based on the University's Governing Board residency regulations.  These regulations are available in the Admissions Office in Hale Hall.

Barksdale Course Tuition $208 per credit hour

Extension, Intern and Barksdale courses will be assessed in addition to any on-campus offerings.

International Student Fee:  $40.00

International Student Insurance Fee:  $314.46

ADDITIONAL FEES MAY BE APPLICABLE FOR SOME COURSES AND SPECIAL PROGRAMS

OTHER GENERAL FEES

Other General Fees
Fee Description Fee Amount

University Annual  - (Payable by all undergraduates enrolled for 8 or more hours - Assessed in Fall Quarter only)

$30.00

Technology Enhancement Fee  -  ($5 per credit hour up to 12 hours)

$5.00 / credit hour

Energy Surcharge  -  ($10 per credit hour up to 8 hours)

$10.00 / credit hour

Associated Women Students  -  (Female students enrolled in 8 hours or more.)

$0.50

 

COLLEGE FEES

College Fees for Graduate and Undergraduate Students
College Fees Description Fee Amount

Business Administration Fee

$40.00

   Business Administration Lab Support Fee

$40.00

Education Fee

$5.00

Engineering & Science Fee

$37.00

   Engineering & Science Lab Support Fee

$40.00

Applied & Natural Science Fee

$7.00

Art & Architecture Enhancement Fee

$30.00

Nursing Fee

$50.00

Liberal Arts Fee

$10.00


ONLINE PROGRAM FEE

Assessed exclusively to students enrolled in academic degree programs offered entirely through distance education.  Select link for applicable degree programs.

Online Program Fee
Online Program Fee Fee Amount

Undergraduate

$30.00/ credit hour

Graduate

$50.00/ credit hour


RESIDENCE HALL / APARTMENTS

Space must be contracted with Residential Life and paid by payment date.

Residence Fee
Space Type Room Fee

Regular Room

$890.00

Private Room

$1,240.00

University Park 1 (9 month lease)

$1,670.00

University Park 1 (12 month lease)

$1,420.00

University Park 2/Park Place 2 and 4 bdrm (9 mo lease)

$1,940.00

University Park 2/Park Place 2 and 4 bdrm (12 mo lease)

$1,660.00

Park Place- 1 bedroom (9 month lease)

$2,110.00

Park Place- 1 bedroom (12 month lease)

$1,860.00

Students leaving the residence hall system in compliance with regulations, but remaining in school, will get a refund of room rent if the official checkout from the residence hall and the permission to move are both obtained before 5:00 p.m. on the close of registration.            
Any student leaving after that date will forfeit the unexpended portion of room rent for the quarter.        

ROOM DEPOSIT   

A $150 non-refundable application fee is required to reserve a residence hall room or apartment.  Request to cancel your housing assignment must be made in writing and received by the Department of Residential Life.

TECH EXPRESS ACCOUNT

The Tech Express account is a prepaid debit account available to students, faculty, and staff.  This account is designed for safe and convenient cash management and may be used for purchases at a number of locations on and off campus including:

- All Campus Dining Locations (in addition to meal plan)
- Barnes and Noble Bookstore
- Various Vending Machines
- Various Laundry Machines
- Select Local Businesses

A purchase of a Tech Express account or addition to an existing account maybe made at the Tech Express Office (located in Student Center facing Centennial Plaza) or Cashiers Office (located in Keeny Hall.)  Accounts may be set up during the times set aside for fee payment and the cost can be added to student’s expense slip.  Students with a refund on their expense slip may apply all or part of their refund to their Tech Express Account.  For more information on Tech Express call 318-257-4553 or email express@latech.edu.

MEALS

Meal Plans

Meal Plan Eligible Students Cost

55 meals/quarter + $500 Declining Balance

On-campus students with 30+ hours

All off-campus students

$950.00

10 meals/week + $225 Declining Balance

All students

$950.00

15 meals/week + $150 Declining Balance

All students

$950.00

19 meals/week + $60 Declining Balance

All students

$950.00

$950 Declining Balance

On-campus students with 60+ hours

All off-campus students

$950.00

UP/Park Place Meal Plan - $420 Declining Balance

Students residing in apartments with 60+ hours

All off-campus students

$420.00

Commuter Plan A - 30 Meals + $50 DB

All off-campus students

$250.00

Commuter Plan B - 15 Meals + $150 DB

All off-campus students

$250.00

Commuter Plan C - Variable Declining Balance

All off-campus students

Variable

A variety of menus are offered to meet nutritional needs and personal dining habits.  All undergraduate and graduate students residing in the dorm or University Park/Park Place apartments are required to purchase a meal plan. Meal plans are available for purchase by students residing off campus.

NO INDIVIDUAL WILL BE AUTHORIZED TO USE THE MEAL CARD OF ANOTHER STUDENT.  Improper use of the meal card is subject to judicial action and considered a serious University violation. Treat your meal card as a credit card or driver's license.  It is valuable and if lost or stolen, should be reported to the Tech Express Office in the Student Center.  There is a $10 replacement fee for lost, stolen or damaged cards.

On occasion, official holidays other than those announced in the official University Calendar will be designated.  These special holidays will be announced by memorandum, posted notice, and in THE TECH TALK.  Closing dates and times for the campus dining facilities will be announced and published at the same time by the Director of Food Services.

Louisiana Tech University reserves the right to increase the cost of dorm and/or meals at any time if conditions should require such a change.

FEE REFUND POLICY

ON AND OFF-CAMPUS OFFERINGS:  (Excluding Barksdale)
Students who resign prior to the close of office on:
Resignation Schedule
 Refund (Resignation) Resign By

90% Refund of Registration Fees*

Friday, December 5

70% Refund of Registration Fees*

Friday, December 12

40% Refund of Registration Fees*

Friday, December 19

No Refund After

Friday, December 19

*Registration Fees are defined as including all tuition, university fees and self assessments.  No refund is given for student insurance.  Students who resign from the University through the 9th class day (Monday, December 15) may receive a 75% refund of room rent and the unused portion of meals.  After the 9th class day, no refunds are given on room and meals.  Processing of resignation refunds will begin 20 days after the start of classes for the quarter.                              

ON AND OFF-CAMPUS OFFERINGS:  (Excluding Barksdale)
Students who drop individual courses prior to the close of office on:

Drop Refund Schedule
 Refund (Drops) Drop Course By

100% Refund

Friday, December 5

No Refund After

Friday, December 5

FOR STUDENTS DROPPING INDIVIDUAL COURSES:                                
For those students who drop individual courses prior to the close of offices on the final date for late registration, as indicated in the official University calendar, fees will be adjusted to reflect hours pursued.

Policy on Return of Title IV Funds  

The Louisiana Tech University Financial Aid Office is required to administer a return of federal student aid funds that complies with the Higher Education Act Reauthorization of 1998. Federal financial aid includes the Federal Pell Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, LEAP funds, Perkins loan, Stafford loans, and PLUS loans. The policy that follows complies with the federal requirements.   

Title IV funds are awarded to a student under the assumption that the student will attend school for the entire period for which the assistance is awarded. When a student withdraws, the student may no longer be eligible for the full amount of Title IV funds that the student was originally scheduled to receive.                                
The Financial Aid Office recalculates federal aid eligibility for students who fail to attend, drop out, resign (officially or unofficially), or are dismissed prior to completing 60% of a quarter. Recalculation is based on the percent of aid earned using the following formula: Number of Days Completed divided by the Total Days in the Quarter equals Percent Earned.

The date used in the calculation is defined as the date of last attendance. The University must return any unearned aid that was applied to institutional charges. The student then owes the University the amounts returned to the federal aid programs. The student may also be required to return/repay some portion of the federal aid received as a refund by the student. For example, if a student was enrolled for 30% of the quarter, then the student is entitled to only 30% of the aid received; thus 70% of the aid must be returned.                                

For the Winter Quarter 2014, the last day to drop with a "W" is February 6, 2015.  The student who attends beyond January 30, 2015 is considered as having earned 100% of the federal financial aid.                                

While this return of Title IV funds policy applies solely to students who receive federal financial aid, it must be understood that the Louisiana Tech University refund policy is also applied to all students whether or not they receive federal financial assistance. The student may owe a refund to the University on the basis of their refund rules. Details of the University refund policy are located in the "Schedule of Classes and General Information" and quarterly "Expense Sheet".

GENERAL REGULATIONS

APPLICATION FEE FOR ADMISSION OR READMISSION         

Each undergraduate application will be assessed a fee of $20.  each graduate application (US or international) will be assessed a fee of $40 . Undergraduate and graduate students will be allowed to sit out one quarter (not including Summer quarter) without having to complete an application for readmission or paying an application fee.  This fee is non-refundable.            

FEE PAYMENT & FINANCIAL AID            

Please review the University's Financial Responsibility Policy for registered students.  All payments for tuition & fees, room rent and meal plans, etc. are due and must be paid at the time set aside in the University calendar for fee payment.  The University accepts payments made by Cash, Check, VISA, MasterCard, Discover and American Express.  Students are responsible for the timely availability of their financial aid (Loans, Grants, Scholarships, Waivers, etc.) in order to make payments due the University for tuition and fees by the payment (purge) deadline.

REFUNDS            

Processing of refunds for enrolled students will begin approximately 7 days after the last day set aside for drop/add and will continue to be processed each week of the quarter.  Students can sign up for electronic deposit of refunds on their B.O.S.S. account.  Students not enrolled in electronic deposit can pick up refund checks from the Cashier’s Office in Keeny Hall.  Refunds not picked up within 21 days of disbursement will be mailed to student’s home address.

Processing of refunds for students resigning from the University will begin 20 days after the start of classes.  Resignation refunds involving federal financial aid programs, waivers, or scholarships will be processed in accordance with these programs.  Resignation refunds are normally mailed to the student's home address.

PURGE (CANCELLATION) OF REGISTRATION         

Student’s must pay or confirm registration to complete the payment process.  Students failing to complete payment in full by the fee payment (purge) deadline will have their classes purged (canceled.)  A late fee of $50 applies to late registration/payment beginning the first class day of each quarter.            

PURGE (CANCELLATION) DEADLINES             

First Purge  -  5:00 PM    Mon, November 17, 2014
Second Purge  -  6:00 PM    Tues, December 2, 2014

LATE OR DELINQUENT PAYMENTS          

Each student is expected to make payment on any bill due the University by the prescribed deadline for payment.  The penalty for late payment of charges, fines, penalties, etc. due the University is $15.  A student who is indebted to any department of the University will not receive a transcript to validate credit for academic work already done, nor be permitted to re-enroll, until the indebtedness is cleared.  Student Accounts with outstanding balances over a quarter past due will be sent to an outside agency for collections.  Students are responsible for all accrued collection fees.  

RETURNED CHECKS  

The University reserves the right to refuse to cash or accept checks from students who have had checks returned.  The penalty for each check returned unpaid for any reason is $15.

SPECIAL SESSIONS

Tuition & fees for special sessions (3-week courses, tours, and camps) will be published as needed & provided to those attending.  Inquiries about fees for special sessions should be directed to the college or department offering the special sessions or to the Comptroller's Office.             

GENERAL NOTES REGARDING FEES AND ASSESSMENTS

Where there are two members of a family (husband and wife or sisters and brothers) each enrolled for 8 or more hours, one of these students may apply for a full refund of the $30 Lagniappe fee through the Lagniappe Office, Room 138 Keeny Hall.  November 1 is the final date for these refunds.  Registration receipts must be presented by those applying.


OmniUpdate